South Pole Internet (or lack thereof)

Hello everyone!

I made it to the South Pole yesterday, but this is the first time that I’ve been able to get wordpress to load. The internet here relies on a series of satellites in polar orbits, which must support the entire incoming and outgoing internet and phone traffic for the station. Each satellite is only above the horizon for a few hours each day, for a total of eight to twelve hours of possible internet connectivity, and the connection quality varies widely. Scientific data transfer gets the highest priority, followed by important phone calls and email…leaving very little bandwidth for things like facebook and blog posts. I’m currently writing this while the “best” internet satellite is up, but NASA will be retiring it at the end of next week, so after that I don’t expect to be able to post anything at all.

I am continuing to write posts on my laptop and I’m still looking forward to sharing my travel experiences with you! I expect to start posting them when I return north, so check back at the end of December or the beginning of January. Until then!

Kate

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

